Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

PrÉSentation

  • : freewheeling
  • : Blog on being a disabled person, different cultures, diversity, equality, disability, travel, being diaspora Chinese and disabled travel.
  • Contact

Flickr

www.flickr.com
Here are some of my photos. This shows some of my travels.



Search

Notice Board



 

Archives

Books I am reading

Xiaolu Guo
A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers
A love story - cultural differences, misunderstandings and yes, I see what she is saying.
concise.jpg
Su Tong
Binu and the Great Wall


Binu and the Great Wall

Binu And The Great Wall is a wonderful myth retold in the words of Su Tong, the author of ‘Rice’.  The myth of Binu and how her tears washed away the Great Wall have been passed down through the ages. It is a tale of hardship, brutality and undying love. Su Tong’s version of the myth, brings to the reader the harshness and brutality that led to the constuction of the wall and the terrible effects it had on the common people.

19 février 2005 6 19 /02 /février /2005 00:00
Morpheous doesn't seem to be eating much-its not like him. And it seems to be time for him to go to the vet for that "special operation" castration. Anyway the vet's receptionist said there was a free slot. So I rang John and got ready to go with Morphy-not an easy task because I had to get his leash on and persuade him to stay on my lap.
Well, apparently theres no worry about his loss of apetite and we made an appointment for him next for 2nd March.
Since I got back my dvd machine back from John, who took it with him on his skiing holidays, I caught up on my films. My brother had sent me Puteri Gunung Ledang, A Legendary Love. This is the Malaysian movie that won some critical acclaim. More details about the movie can be found at the IMDb database. I must admit to liking the lavish costumes and the scenery - however the action is on the slow side and cannot understand why there should be voice overs. It makes the actors stilted and some of the scenes drag on a bit. I didn't realise that during the Malacca empire, people were using horses to get around. It makes sense I suppose.

Puteri Gunung Ledang film poster

I looked up the history - my Malaysian history being a bit hazy - from Sabri Zain of course. I have a vague recollection of the stories of Hang Tuah. Hikayat Hang Tuah.


Hang Tuah leader of a closely-knit band of Melaka's finest warriors - Hang Kasturi, Hang Lekiu, Hang Lekir and Hang Jebat. But Hang Tuah gets slandered by his enemies and the Sultan unthinkingly orders him to be put to death. Hang Tuah goes into hiding. Hang Jebat, mad at the injustice done to his friend, goes in a rampage at the royal palace and the Sultan is forced to flee for his life. The Sultan is sorry for what he did to Hang Tuah who then turns up against his friend for his disloyalty towards the royalty.

 I don't think I really got into the story much when I was at school. Our Malay teacher, Cikgu Hamid, was not really that inspirational a teacher. Can I blame him for my disinterest in my Malay lessons? Ah well regret is a pointless exercise!
Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires