Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

PrÉSentation

  • : freewheeling
  • : Blog on being a disabled person, different cultures, diversity, equality, disability, travel, being diaspora Chinese and disabled travel.
  • Contact

Flickr

www.flickr.com
Here are some of my photos. This shows some of my travels.



Search

Notice Board



 

Archives

Books I am reading

Xiaolu Guo
A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers
A love story - cultural differences, misunderstandings and yes, I see what she is saying.
concise.jpg
Su Tong
Binu and the Great Wall


Binu and the Great Wall

Binu And The Great Wall is a wonderful myth retold in the words of Su Tong, the author of ‘Rice’.  The myth of Binu and how her tears washed away the Great Wall have been passed down through the ages. It is a tale of hardship, brutality and undying love. Su Tong’s version of the myth, brings to the reader the harshness and brutality that led to the constuction of the wall and the terrible effects it had on the common people.

18 août 2006 5 18 /08 /août /2006 21:40
I did not expect a thunderstorm when I set out this morning but it was a bit scary to be under the underpass on the way back from the Techno Centre and seeing water rising rapidly from the drain when I was sheltering there with a fellow colleague.

 We had taken shelter there briefly thinking we would wait till the brunt of the heavy rain abate before going into the town centre but when I saw that we might be flooded instead, I ventured out - I am not sure how the Invacare chair would have held  out against the rising  flood water. It was bucketing it down but I managed to cross the road and take refuge in Brown's pub for a hot cup of tea and cake.

It brought back memories of a similar incident at Austin when I got caught in a downpour. There is nothing that could make me feel so vulnerable as when there is only an umbrella between you and the rain - and you cannot be rescued because the power chair is not easy to accomodate and even if I could have called a taxi, I cannot see the taxi driver being happy about getting out in the rain to get the ramp in place. Nor the bus driver.
Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires