Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

PrÉSentation

  • : freewheeling
  • : Blog on being a disabled person, different cultures, diversity, equality, disability, travel, being diaspora Chinese and disabled travel.
  • Contact

Flickr

www.flickr.com
Here are some of my photos. This shows some of my travels.



Search

Notice Board



 

Archives

Books I am reading

Xiaolu Guo
A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers
A love story - cultural differences, misunderstandings and yes, I see what she is saying.
concise.jpg
Su Tong
Binu and the Great Wall


Binu and the Great Wall

Binu And The Great Wall is a wonderful myth retold in the words of Su Tong, the author of ‘Rice’.  The myth of Binu and how her tears washed away the Great Wall have been passed down through the ages. It is a tale of hardship, brutality and undying love. Su Tong’s version of the myth, brings to the reader the harshness and brutality that led to the constuction of the wall and the terrible effects it had on the common people.

3 août 2007 5 03 /08 /août /2007 00:53
The OT gave me a kitchen aid to help me with making hot drinks. I found it not very safe and thought there might be health and safety issues with it. However, she left it. she also left a bath stool and an aid to help me put my socks on -  that I cannot  use. 

I wonder if there has been real usability  testing on these aids. Nobody I know that has got one really use it. I think it is given often because it is cheap and they can claim it as a solution. What would Donald  Norman (Design of Everyday things) say about it?  Do designers just put out these and from henceforth OTs seize them as aids - she repeated it like a mantra- but it will make you more independent.  Its not really something to be used by a wheelchair user because it raises the kettle and then it need to be filled up from the top. She had it fixed in her mind as a solution and she would not discuss it.
I wanted to tell her that some of my non disabled friends in France (although they are Mexicans ) use a microwave to heat up water. I thought better of it - she might seriously offer it as a solution just as she insisted that buying microwaveable food as a solution to real meals.

But when I suggested a bath lift so that i can get in and out of the bath safely she would not even discuss it. I should make a complaint about her rather than just rant about her here. But I think a Netune bath lift would be really good for me.

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

S
Hi<br /> <br /> Thanks for the reply.<br /> <br /> I'm currently studying at Consumer Product Design at Coventry University, and as part of my third year (professional enhancement year) I have to enter a competition which is also marked as part of my degree.<br /> <br /> The brief I have chosen is to find an unmet need in the kitchen and as I posted last time there are few or none for able bodied people.<br /> <br /> Last year my younger brother had an accident involving a shallow dive and is now tetraplegic. It was as you may know a pebble in a pond effect with the family moving to an adapted house etc. His one ambition before the accident was to become a chef and to study at the Birmingham College Of Food & Tourism, to which now will not be possible as he has lost the dexterity in his hands. Whilst he has good movement in his arms and is currently training to play wheelchair rugby and target shooting getting him into the kitchen to prepare food in his bid to become independant may be somewhat of an issue.<br /> <br /> In my opinion so far it seems that there isnt much in the way of design people who have had accidents and are now disabled, so i thought it was a good, valid place to begin.<br /> <br /> We are currently living in an adapted house that is excellent bar a kitchen adaption (we hope to get it done soon!) near to Birmingham just off Junction 7 of the M6.<br /> <br /> Where abouts are you yourself? Please feel free to email me aswell if you like.<br /> <br /> Kind Regards<br /> Stu
Répondre
E
I guess if you read the rest of this blog you will know that I am based in Coventry. We should get together to explore this exchange and discuss about the competition. I'll write to you at your email.
S
Hello,<br /> <br /> I was particulary interested in the above article questionning the usability of aids or products that are supposedly designed for wheelchair users or users with limited strength or dexterity.<br /> <br /> I am currently involved in a design programme at university that is seeking to find unmet needs in a kitchen environment. Since there are hundreds of useless products that are unneccessary already in the kitchen this task is somewhat challenging at first.<br /> <br /> On further research and being involved with people who have suffered spinal injuries it has become apparent that there may be an abundance of unmet need for users of this nature; both quadraplegic and tetraplegic. The above information is probably just a small insight into how these so called "adapted" products that are supposed to help people become independant are not entirely useful at all.<br /> <br /> I would be grateful of any other information, opinions, thoughts or even ideas of what is really needed in the kitchen to aid a disabled user in preparing and cooking food for themselves. Any task or process is valid from opening packaging through to throwing away waste food or even washing and putting away plates.<br /> <br /> From what i have seen so far there only seems to be a small number of products available and not too much going on in the way of cutting edge design for these users real needs.<br /> <br /> Again, any input or opinions are welcomed.<br /> Regards<br /> Stu<br /> <br />
Répondre
E
hi Stu,thanks for that. It 'd be interesting to know where you are and from at whihc univerity you are doing research?