Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

PrÉSentation

  • : freewheeling
  • : Blog on being a disabled person, different cultures, diversity, equality, disability, travel, being diaspora Chinese and disabled travel.
  • Contact

Flickr

www.flickr.com
Here are some of my photos. This shows some of my travels.



Search

Notice Board



 

Archives

Books I am reading

Xiaolu Guo
A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers
A love story - cultural differences, misunderstandings and yes, I see what she is saying.
concise.jpg
Su Tong
Binu and the Great Wall


Binu and the Great Wall

Binu And The Great Wall is a wonderful myth retold in the words of Su Tong, the author of ‘Rice’.  The myth of Binu and how her tears washed away the Great Wall have been passed down through the ages. It is a tale of hardship, brutality and undying love. Su Tong’s version of the myth, brings to the reader the harshness and brutality that led to the constuction of the wall and the terrible effects it had on the common people.

4 janvier 2005 2 04 /01 /janvier /2005 00:00
Today, I spent some time watching one of the joint Christmas presents for John and I which was a set of three dvds - The One Armed Swordsman series.

the one armed swordsman dvd cover  wang yu as one armed swordsman
(Review and photos)
The "One Armed Swordsman" is one of the first movies with a "cripple"as a hero and a super cripple. I think I like the "New One Armed Sworsdman"best as it has David Chiang and Ti Lung in it.   This digitised dvds brought me back to my teenage days when I would go home for lunch after school (school finished at lunchtime) and straightaway head for the cinema (sometimes still in my school uniform. I used to have a bicycle in those days with stabilisers to help me get on and off. The ticket sellers had no problems with me bring ing my bicycle almost to the room door and leaving it just outside for the first available seat in the air conditioned room. I must have watched all of Ti Lung and David Chiang's movies. My love for kungfu films date from those days. But my old time favourite is "Come Drink with me" with Cheng Pei Pei. Here is a very good review of it. What I like about this movie is that the heroine is a fully fleshed out character and extremely effective as a swordswoman and is willing to learn from others.

"The story doesn't have as much punch today as it might have in 1966 since elements of it have resurfaced over and over again, but effectively casting a female in the lead is actually less common today then in the '50 and '60's era of Hong Kong. A 19-year old Cheng Pei Pei was cast by Hu to play Golden Swallow, the twin short sword-wielding protagonist who is sent to free her brother, a government official, from the grasp of ruthless bandits. Their aim is to have their leader freed in exchange, but Pei Pei lets them know, in a famous teahouse fight, that its not going to be played that way. The opening battle is actually the film's most memorable one. In a moment that has since been repeated in countless genre films, Pei Pei arrogantly displays her skills to a group of the bandits through several acts of supernatural ability. But, we soon learn that even her incredible skill is shadowed by an even greater hero who passes himself as a drunken beggar as played by Yueh Hua. "

poster for Come Drink with me

Most western and younger audience only know her from her role in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Jade Fox.

cheng pei pei

An interview with Cheng Pei Pei by Walter Chaw.
Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires