Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

PrÉSentation

  • : freewheeling
  • : Blog on being a disabled person, different cultures, diversity, equality, disability, travel, being diaspora Chinese and disabled travel.
  • Contact

Flickr

www.flickr.com
Here are some of my photos. This shows some of my travels.



Search

Notice Board



 

Archives

Books I am reading

Xiaolu Guo
A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers
A love story - cultural differences, misunderstandings and yes, I see what she is saying.
concise.jpg
Su Tong
Binu and the Great Wall


Binu and the Great Wall

Binu And The Great Wall is a wonderful myth retold in the words of Su Tong, the author of ‘Rice’.  The myth of Binu and how her tears washed away the Great Wall have been passed down through the ages. It is a tale of hardship, brutality and undying love. Su Tong’s version of the myth, brings to the reader the harshness and brutality that led to the constuction of the wall and the terrible effects it had on the common people.

4 novembre 2007 7 04 /11 /novembre /2007 22:28
John came and visited me this weekend. We have come a long way since undergrad university days at Canterbury, Kent. We've sat in theology classes together (he's a chaplain), went to each other's weddings, watch our kids grow up from spasmodic visits and kept in touch that way.

Instead of going to church, I gave him some disability equality training by making him listen and watch Disability Capital webcast, listen to Ouch podcasts etc. I think he appreciated it. Then we went to Warwick and had a full English roast Sunday lunch. It was very nice but I cannot recommend the restaurant because it was not accessible with one step and no accessible loo. Picturesque town but not very habitable I think with a wheelchair.

           John G. with his Sunday roast

However I think I am getting more and more one track in my conversations and evangelical about disability. I must go take up something else to do or I will sound like I am stuck in a groove. I wrote to someone saying I do not like to put myself in a silo but lately disability has been dominating all my thoughts. I need to go do some exercise because the only other thing I do besides sitting at my computer is eat at restaurants or having a drink (even if it is not alcohol ) at the pub.
Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires