Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

PrÉSentation

  • : freewheeling
  • : Blog on being a disabled person, different cultures, diversity, equality, disability, travel, being diaspora Chinese and disabled travel.
  • Contact

Flickr

www.flickr.com
Here are some of my photos. This shows some of my travels.



Search

Notice Board



 

Archives

Books I am reading

Xiaolu Guo
A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers
A love story - cultural differences, misunderstandings and yes, I see what she is saying.
concise.jpg
Su Tong
Binu and the Great Wall


Binu and the Great Wall

Binu And The Great Wall is a wonderful myth retold in the words of Su Tong, the author of ‘Rice’.  The myth of Binu and how her tears washed away the Great Wall have been passed down through the ages. It is a tale of hardship, brutality and undying love. Su Tong’s version of the myth, brings to the reader the harshness and brutality that led to the constuction of the wall and the terrible effects it had on the common people.

18 novembre 2007 7 18 /11 /novembre /2007 18:56
I've been making more visits to Birmingham  recently - I find it very cosmopolitan and reflect the ethnic mix seen in just a few things that I happened to be at...the market is obvious- I am impressed by the choice of halal meat -

Halal meat stall in Birmingham Market
Halal meat stall in Birmingham Market

I was also pleasantly surprised by finding teh tarik ( a special type of 'pulled tea' found in Malaysia) at the market but I think it was a temporary stall.
Stall selling Malaysian food
Stall selling Malaysian food

Last week, I went with some colleagues to Shogun Restaurant for a teppanyaki meal. I did not realise that it was so far (it isnt really but when you can't walk far, it can seem miles) I have a dreadful sense of direction anywy. Its not far to get to the Mailbox from Brindley Place. Alex did not happen to bring his wheelchair and I've never actually taken that route myself. The Mailbox is not my favourite building in Birmingham at any rate. We were staying at a hotel in Brindley Place. There is a Shogun at Brindley Place but the lift thre is rather cramped. They have eat all you can sushi too for about £12 but they did not impress me with the choice.
Smoky teppanyaki evening at Shogun restaurant

Round a teppanyaki chef

Normally I would eshew from a teppanyaki meal, it is more of a spectacle - the food is cooked by a chef who does it with flourishes, throwing eggs and such like in the air etc. But it is fun to go with people who have never done it before and experience it. The chef here is a Filipino and he was quite gracious.

The night before that I was having a drink at Pitcher and Piano with Zara, Naomi and John where they ask for IDs and told me to take my hat off!
Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires